SI Live: Breaking News

Syndicate content
Breaking news from Staten Island, NY (featured entries) Movable Type Enterprise 4.29-advance
Updated: 18 min 9 sec ago

code for promo boxes *KEEP UNPUBLISHED* do not delete

Sat, 03/26/2033 - 23:14
STAY CONNECTED: Download the SILive.com mobile app! BREAKING NEWS UPDATES: Download the SILive.com mobile app! FOLLOW YOUR TEAMS: Download the HIGH SCHOOL SPORTS app! Read their SILive.com wedding story here. Put headline here Put copy here * Or, put bulleted or bolded... Ken Paulsen | paulsen@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/kpaulsen/index.html
Categories: Local News

New minimum wage increase goes into effect on Saturday

Sun, 12/31/2017 - 14:00
Business owners fear how the minimum wage hike will affect their bottom line. Tracey Porpora | porpora@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/tporpora/index.html
Categories: Local News

Powerball numbers: Did you win Wednesday's $218.7 million lottery jackpot?

1 hour 28 min ago
Here are the winning numbers in Wednesday's Powerball lottery drawing. National Desk http://connect.silive.com/user/nationaldesk/index.html
Categories: Local News

Man sought for questioning in connection to use of stolen debit card

2 hours 54 min ago
Police are asking for the public's help identifying a man sought for questioning in connection to the use of a stolen debit card in Port Richmond. Paul Liotta | pliotta@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/liottap2/index.html
Categories: Local News

NYPD: Earlier slashing, shooting were part of large fight in Stapleton

3 hours 34 min ago
Police say the slashing that occurred in Stapleton early Wednesday evening was connected to a large fight that also resulted in one man being shot. Paul Liotta | pliotta@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/liottap2/index.html
Categories: Local News

No injuries reported after fire in Annadale

3 hours 39 min ago
No injuries were reported after a fire broke out in Annadale Wednesday night. Paul Liotta | pliotta@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/liottap2/index.html
Categories: Local News

Protesters gather against Trump ban on transgender troops

4 hours 2 min ago
Demonstrators have flocked to a military recruiting station in New York City to protest President Donald Trump's abrupt ban on transgender troops in the military. Associated Press http://connect.silive.com/user/siapnews/index.html
Categories: Local News

Police investigate reported slashing of woman in Stapleton

4 hours 53 min ago
Police were investigating the reported slashing of a woman in Stapleton early Wednesday evening, according to radio transmissions. Paul Liotta | pliotta@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/liottap2/index.html
Categories: Local News

D.A. McMahon calls reported dismissal of more than 500,000 warrants 'unfair'

4 hours 58 min ago
District Attorney Michael E. McMahon has come out against the reported dismissal of more than 500,000 arrest warrants issued during the "Broken Windows" era of policing. Paul Liotta | pliotta@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/liottap2/index.html
Categories: Local News

Stapleton man busted for allegedly punching, robbing woman

5 hours 1 min ago
Kenneth Robinson, 38, was charged with robbery and assault, police said. Mira Wassef | mwassef@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/mwassef/index.html
Categories: Local News

Union members, supporters continue strike against Spectrum

5 hours 4 min ago
Union members and supporters rallied outside the Spectrum store to strike. Annalise Knudson | aknudson@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/aknudson/index.html
Categories: Local News

What birds do you hear calling at night on Staten Island?

6 hours 42 min ago
Owls have a reputation for their nocturnal activity, but they don't have a monopoly on nighttime crooning. Other birds, such as nighthawks and whippoorwills, also call at night. Yet others that are truly diurnal awaken early enough to begin calling... Clay Wollney | For the Staten Island Advance http://connect.silive.com/user/cwollney/index.html
Categories: Local News

Now hiring at Amazon: Thousands of people in 1 day

7 hours 42 min ago
Amazon plans to make thousands of job offers in just one day as it holds a giant job fair next week at nearly a dozen warehouses across the U.S. Associated Press http://connect.silive.com/user/siapnews/index.html
Categories: Local News

Defendant 'cold-cocked' victim at train platform, knocked him out, prosecutor tells judge

7 hours 44 min ago
A man knocked out a victim at the Oakwood Heights train station while his accomplice stole his bag, a prosecutor told a judge Frank Donnelly | fdonnelly@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/sifdonnelly/index.html
Categories: Local News

Italian tall ship Amerigo Vespucci comes to New York

7 hours 48 min ago
The Italian Navy training ship Amerigo Vespucci sailed by Staten Island on Wednesday morning. Jan Somma-Hammel | somma@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/jsomma/index.html
Categories: Local News

Malliotakis proposes overhaul of immigration detainer policies

8 hours 21 sec ago
The city doesn't honor federal detention requests from ICE anymore without a warrant from a federal judge. Anna Sanders | asanders@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/annasanders/index.html
Categories: Local News

Cuomo signs bill to expand tax cuts for seniors, disabled

8 hours 27 min ago
An average homeowner who qualifies under the expanded threshold could save up to $1,750 a year, according to Savino's office. Rachel Shapiro | rshapiro@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/rachelshapiro/index.html
Categories: Local News

Shark Week unfolds: We look at close encounters on area beaches

8 hours 33 min ago
Staten Island made the news in the 1800s, when a 22-year-old man was attacked by a shark. Cassy Sommer | csommer@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/csommer/index.html
Categories: Local News

Trump says transgender people should be barred from military

8 hours 34 min ago
President Donald Trump said Wednesday he wants transgender people barred from serving in the U.S. military "in any capacity," citing "tremendous medical costs and disruption." Associated Press http://connect.silive.com/user/siapnews/index.html
Categories: Local News

Blind Staten Island mom gets help with daughter's pre-K placement

8 hours 46 min ago
A blind Staten Island mother is getting help with her daughter's pre-K placement, after she took the city to task. Diane C. Lore | lore@siadvance.com http://connect.silive.com/user/dlore/index.html
Categories: Local News

TLM Associates | The Woolworth Building, 233 Broadway, Suite 702 New York, NY 10007 - Tel: 646-254-6317 - Fax: 212-587-8095